Ads by Google Ads by Google

Chief Election Officer names qualified candidates for Nov election

American Samoa Election Office
Qualified voters have three business days to file any challenges

Pago Pago, AMERICAN SAMOA — Four gubernatorial teams, three candidates for the Congressional race, and 51 candidates for the local House of Representatives race have been determined by Chief Election Officer, Dr. Lealofi Uiagalelei as qualified to seek public office in the Nov. 3, 2020 general election.

In accordance with local election law, qualified voters have three business days to file any challenges against these candidates for public office.

Deadline to file nomination forms and other documents for candidates was 4:30p.m, yesterday, Sept. 1st, and about three hours later the Uiagalelei released the list of qualified candidates.

“Based upon the Nomination Petitions filed and other documents on record with the Election Office,” Uiagalelei said he has determined the individuals who are “eligible to qualify as candidates for the November 03, 2020 General Election”.

(Samoa News is reporting names of the candidates as provided by the Election Office.)

While five gubernatorial teams had publicly announced their intention to seek the offices of the governor and lieutenant governor, the qualified list shows only four gubernatorial teams (alphabetical order):

•     Gaoteote Palaie Tofau & Faiivae Iuli Alexander Godinet

•     I’aulualo Fa’afetai Talia & Tapaau Daniel Mageo Aga

•     Lemanu Palepoi Sialega Mauga & Talauega Eleasalo Vaalele Ale

•     Nua Sao & Tapumanaia Galu Satele Jr.

Samoa News notes that Gov. Lolo Matalasi Moliga is barred under the territory’s Constitution and local law from seeking a third-consecutive four-year term.

For the Delegate to the US House race, the incumbent Congresswoman Aumua Amata is being challenged by Meleagi Suitonu-Chapman and Oreta Crichton. (Military retiree Supply Lealofi Seau had publicly announced his intention to run for the Delegate seat in the US House of Representation was not on the list of qualified candidates.)


Uiagalelei said that all candidates will be Officially Certified pursuant to Section 6.0302 (a) of the American Samoa Code Annotated — which is titled “Challenging the candidates.”

“Any registered qualified elector may, for any cause not previously decided by the Board of Registration or the High Court in respect to the same person, challenge the right of that person to be a candidate for office in a general or special election,” according to provision of the law.

It also says that the challenge shall be made no later than 4:30 p.m on the 3rd business day after the Chief Election Officer issues his determination of nominated candidates eligible for election.

The challenge shall be in writing, setting forth the grounds upon which it is based, and be signed by the person making the challenge. The challenge shall be delivered to the Chief Election Officer, who shall immediately serve notice of it on the candidate. The Chief Election Officer shall, as soon as possible, investigate and rule on the challenge.

Provision (b) of the law states: If neither the challenger nor the challenged appeals the ruling of the Chief Election Officer, then the Chief Election Officer shall cause ballots to be printed, bearing the names of all eligible candidates for the office that was challenged. If an appeal is taken to the High Court, then the Chief Election Officer may delay the printing of ballots for the office challenged until a final determination is made.


According to the list of candidates there are 51 candidates vying for the 20-elected seats of the local House of Representatives and all current faipule are seeking re-election, including House Speaker Savali Talavou Ale — Representative District #14 Alataua — facing three challengers.

Some candidates for this year’s House race are former lawmakers, including Sala Sataua Dr. Mataese Samuelu, the current Agriculture Department director, vying for one of the two seats for Representative District # 12  Ituau — and Tuika Tuika, hoping to unseat Rep. Vailoata E. Amituana’i for Representative District #7 Ma’oputasi #1.

This year, all House seats are being contested, with one or more candidates racing against incumbents.

List of qualified candidates for the local House race is as follows, with the notation (I) — identifying the candidate as the incumbent.

Representative District #1 – Manu’a

•     Alumamalu Ale Filoialii

•     Fetui F. Fetui Jr. (I)

•     Filoialii Le’aai Safulu Filoialii Jr.

•     Mapu S. Jamias

•     Vesi Talalelei Fautanu Jr. (I)

Representative District #2 – Manu’a

•     Sualevai Nofoaiga Sualevai

•     Tiaoalii Fauagiga Sai (I)

Representative District #3 – Vaifanua

•     Lavea Fatulegae’e Palepoi Mauga

•     Shawn O. Vaa (I)

•     Suaese Ta’ase

Representative District #4 – Saole

•     Titiali’i Kitara Vaiau (I)

•     Vaasa Simanu

Representative District #5 – Sua #1

•     Fa’alae Koneseti Lauatuaa Tunupopo

•     Fialupe Felila Fiaui Lutu

•     Luaitaua Gene Pan (I)

Representative District #6 – Sua #2

•     Avagafono Tuavao Vaimaga Maiava

•     Loia Gutu (I)

Representative District #7 – Maoputasi #1

•     Tuika Tuika

•     Vailoata E. Amituanai (I)

Representative District #8 – Maoputasi #2

•     Agalelei Fatuesi

•     Ifopo Maugaoali’i Sipa Anoa’i

•     Vailiuama S. Leasiolagi (I)

•     Wayne Malaetasi Ames

Representative District #9 – Maoputasi #3

•     Ve’evalu Meauta Lauoi Mageo

•     Vesiai Poyer Samuelu (I)

Representative District #10 – Maoputasi #4

•     Tapai Alailepule Benjamin Vaivao

•     Tina Faisiota Vivao-Ioane

•     Vaetasi Tu’umolimoli S. Moliga (I)

Representative District #11 – Maoputasi #5

•     Faimealelei Anthony Fu’e Allen (I)

•     Sauafea Sonny Sauafea

Representative District #12 – Ituau

•     Andrew Earnest Thomson

•     Logoituau Mark T. Atafua (I)

•     Manumaua Wayne Wilson (I)

•     Sala Sataua Dr. Mataese Samuelu

Representative District #13 – Fofo

•     Andra Tereise Samoa (I)

•     Puletuimalo Dick S. Koko

Representative District # 14 – Alataua

•     Andrew M. Autele

•     Ethan Lake

•     Faleomavaega Nicholas King

•     Savali Talavou Ale (I)

 Representative District #15 – Tualauta

•     Alex M. Sene Jr.

•     Bartley Papali’i Su’a Lucia

•     Larry Simou Sanitoa (I)

•     Saili Sione Samoa

•     Samuel Ioka Meleisea (I)

•     Vui Florence Vaili Saulo

Representative District #16 – Tualatai

•     Manavaalofa Tutuila Manase

•     Rachel R. Manning-Key

•     Timusa Tini C. Lam Yuen (I)

Representative District #17 – Leasina

•     Ape Mike Asifoa

•     Gafatasi Afalava (I)