Ads by Google Ads by Google

Chief Election Officer certifies mid-term election candidates

American Samoa Election Office photo

Pago Pago, AMERICAN SAMOA — Chief Election Officer, Dr. Lealofi Uiagalelei has issued the “official certification” of the three candidates for the US Delegate’s seat and fifty-five for the local House of Representatives race, for the Nov. 6th mid term election.

With the certification process completed, the Election Office will start today, Monday, local absentee voting for electors who will be off island on election day.

The certification of candidates came after the deadline to challenge the qualification of any candidates eligible for the general election expired at 4:30p.m. last Friday, said Uiagalelei, who noted that the names of the certified candidates on the ballot will be printed as they appear below.

Samoa News understands that the ballots were printed over the weekend, and this includes printing the ballot for the veto override referendum, seeking to amend the local Constitution, by giving the authority to the Legislature instead of the US Secretary of Interior, who currently has the authority,


For the Congressional race, Congresswoman Aumua Amata is seeking a third two-year term in the US House and she is being challenged by Meleagi Suitonu-Chapman and Tuika Tuika Jr.

For the local House of Representatives race, two incumbent faipule are running unopposed this year: Reps. Titiali’i Kitara Vaiau Vailoata Eteuati Amituana’i.

Manu’a District #2 Rep. Toeaina Faufano Autele is the only incumbent not seeking re-election.

Campaigning for the 2018 election is beginning to surface with billboards popping up on family property, announcing the names of candidates for the Congressional and local House — seeking voters’ support. With the age of modern technology, candidates are using social media to get their message out faster — and this has been widely used in the last two elections.


Uiagalelei, in a statement released after 4:30p.m. last Friday, announced local absentee voting for qualified electors who reside in American Samoa but will be temporarily absent from the territory on Election Day.

These electors may vote by absentee ballot at the Election Office beginning today, Monday, Sept. 10, from 8a.m. to 4p.m until Nov. 5 at 4p.m. Additionally, the Election Office will be open from 8a.m. to 12noon on Saturdays for local absentee voting.

Qualified electors who may vote by local absentee ballot, between now and until the day before election are voters traveling for: medical treatment; military-related assignments; employment-related training, conference or assignments; and vacation.

In accordance with local law, those travelers listed above who wish to vote must present proof of their temporary absence from American Samoa. Such proof includes, but is not limited to, airline/ carrier ticket, military order, travel authorization, medical referral, etc.

Uiagalelei stressed that those travelers who will return to American Samoa before Nov. 6 “are ‘not’ allowed to vote again.”

Meanwhile, election officials remind those who haven’t registered to vote, to stop by the Election Office and register to vote.  Documents needed to complete voter registration include: Birth Certificate/ Passport, Social Security Card and Photo ID — they must be 18 years old, a US citizen, or US national to qualify.

Last day to register or re-register for the mid term election is 4:30p.m Oct. 9. Thereafter the final list of the official Voter Roll will be released to candidates.

 For our UOCAVA Voters (Military and Overseas voters), requests for absentee ballots started Jan. 1, 2018 and will run until Oct. 23, 2018. Voter search platform for these absentee voters online:


The following is the certified list, released by the Election Office, featuring the names — as they are spelled — and the order in which candidates are listed. An “I” next to the name stands for incumbent:



Aumua Amata (I)

Meleagi Suitonu- Chapman

Tuika Tuika



 Representative District #1 – Manu’a

Alumamalu Ale Filoialii

Fetu Fetui Jr. (I)

Mapu Saei Jamias

Vesi Talalelei Fautanu Jr. (I)


 Representative District #2 – Manu’a

 Fau T. Sai

Leautu Segila Vaeao

Moegu Calvin Tagaloa

Sualevai Nofoaiga Sualevai


Representative District #3 – Vaifanua

Lavea Fatulegae’e Palepoi Mauga (I)

Tupua Shawn Vaa


Representative District #4 – Saole

Titiali’i Kitara Vaiau (I)


 Representative District #5 – Sua #1

Gene Luaitaua Pan

Fa’alae Lauatuaa Koneseti Tunupopo

Fialupe Felila Fiaui Lutu (I)

Mataava Snow-Aga

Setu F. Malepeai Jr.


Representative District #6 – Sua #2

Limutau Fauvasa Limutau

Loia Gutu

Matagi Malotumau D. Sialega Mauga (I)


 Representative District #7 – Maoputasi #1

Vailoata Eteuati Amituanai (I)


Representative District #8 – Maoputasi #2    

Agalelei Latu Fatuesi

Maugaoali’I Le’apai Sipa Anoa’i

Siaosi Asalele

Vailiuama Steve Leasiolagi (I)


Representative District #9 – Maoputasi #3

Paepaetele Taulua Fruean Suisala Jr.

Ve’evalu Meauta Lauoi Mageo (I)

Vesiai Poyer Samuelu


Representative District #10 – Maoputasi #4

Tapai Alailepule Ben Vaivao

Tina Faisiotamo’ i Vivao  Ioane

Vaetasi Tu’umolimoli S. Moliga (I)


Representative District #11 – Maoputasi #5

Faimealelei Anthony Fu’e Allen (I)

Muaiavaona Fofoga Pila


Representative District #12 – Ituau

Logoituau Mark T. Atafua

Manumaua Wayne Wilson (I)

Sala Sataua Dr. Mataese Samuelu (I)

Willie Mauga Togafau


Representative District #13 – Fofo

Andra Samoa

Fagaoatua Dorian T. Salave’a (I)


Representative District # 14 – Alataua

Fatumalala L. Al-Shehri

Mona Uli

Savali Talavou Ale (I)


Representative District #15 – Tualauta

Bartley Papali’i Su’a Lucia

Foma’i Paepule Logoai

Larry S. Sanitoa

Malumalo Nikolao Toa Mageo

Samuel Ioka Ale Meleisea (I)

Talataina Valusia Talataina

Tapumanaia Galu Satele Jr.

Vui Florence Tuaumu Saulo (I)


Representative District #16 – Tualatai

Manavaalofa Tutuila Manase

Manu Talamoa

Peni (Ben) Te’o

Timusa Tini C. Lam Yuen (I)


Representative District #17 – Leasina

Afalava Gafatasi (I)

Ulua’iaso Falana’i Tuilefano Alofa Tuaumu