Ads by Google Ads by Google

Amata congratulates American Samoa Society upon winning national award

In this photo: (right) President Isapela Coggins is presented the American Samoa Society’s National Trophy by last year’s winner, (left) Diane Parrot, who represents the Virgin Islands Society, along with (center) NCSS President William Christian.  [Courtesy photo]
Source: Office of the Congresswoman

Washington, D.C. — Congresswoman Aumua Amata congratulated the American Samoa Society upon winning the national Roc C. Haines Award as the Outstanding State or Territorial Society of the Year within the National Conference of State and Territorial Societies (NCSS). The prestigious award was announced in Washington, D.C., at the Cherry Blossom Grand Ball, the leading event of the 2017-2018 year.

“Congratulations to the American Samoa Society on their first-time win of this major national award against a lot of competition,” said Amata. “I love being a part of the American Samoa Society’s activities, which are always so well done, and now our people who represent American Samoa superbly have earned this recognition as the Outstanding State or Territorial Society of the year.”

Each year, the Roc C. Haines Award for the Outstanding State or Territorial Society of the year is earned through performance in four categories:

  • Demonstrating sustained best organizational practices in an active Society;
  • Supporting and participating in National Conference of State and Territorial Societies’ programs, projects and activities;
  • Connecting with the home State/Territorial entities within the State or Territory or Washington, D.C., area;
  • Sponsoring special efforts of a community-service nature that reflect credibly on the Society, it’s Members and State/Territory and by extension on the NCSS.

“This was a special year for the Society, all the Members and its excellent leadership — President Isapela Coggins, Secretary Siela Ulugalu, Treasurer Miyako Yerick, Marketing Director Nancy Glass, and Historian Lagi Faumuina — my heartfelt congratulations to each of you!” continued the Congresswoman.

“Also, one of our own, Angelina Roberts, represented American Samoa and the Society at the weekend’s program as the 2018 Cherry Blossom Princess, and she did a great job, just as she does serving the people of American Samoa in our office on Capitol Hill,” Amata concluded.