Ads by Google Ads by Google

Senate approves two of six Retirement Board nominees, House vote today

Two out of six of the governor’s nominees were approved in the Senate yesterday to serve on the Retirement Fund Board. They are: Toafala Iafeta and Aloma Aumau-Langford. The remaining four were rejected — former Lt. Governor, Faoa Aitofele Sunia (to remain on the Board), Treasurer Dr. Falema’o “Phil” Pili, Human Resources Director Sonny Thompson, Lauvao Stephen Haleck and Maaelopa Bob Tuiasosopo.


This is the third time the governor has submitted nominations for the Retirement Board; the Fono twice rejected all his nominees.


The following was the vote in the Senate. To pass you needed at least 10 “yes” votes.


Toafala Iafeta 10- 5; Aloma Aumau-Langford 12- 3; Faoa Aitofele Sunia 7- 8; HR director Sonny Thompson 7- 8; Lauvao Stephen Haleck 9- 6, Maaelopa Bob Tuiasosopo 9-6; and, Treasurer Pili 4- 11.


The vote was cast by secret ballots, following a hearing before the Senate Retirement Committee, chaired by Senator Avegalio Aigamaua.


The House is expected to vote on the nominees today, however with the Senate vote, the four rejected nominees are a done deal.


Samoa News will report on the full hearings in the Senate and House in tomorrow’s edition.