Ads by Google Ads by Google

Results of the gubernatorial run-off are now official

Governor-elect Lolo Matalasi Moliga and Lt. Governor-elect Lemanu Peleti Sialega Mauga will be sworn into office before 12noon on Jan. 3, 2013 for their first four-year term, now that the Election Office has certified the results of the Nov. 20, 2012 gubernatorial run-off race.

In a notification issued late yesterday afternoon, Chief Election Officer, Soliai Tuipine Fuimaono said the deadline for contesting the results of the run-off election had expired, therefore the results are now “official.”

(The deadline for contesting the run-off was 4:30 p.m. yesterday and the Election Office said no challenge was filed with the High Court of American Samoa.)

“Accordingly, Lolo Matalasi Moliga and Lemanu Peleti Sialega Mauga are the elected governor and lieutenant governor of the territory... and shall serve for a term beginning on Jan. 3, 2013 ending Jan. 3, 2017,” said Soliai in the official notification.

According to the official results, of the 12,553 ballots counted, Lolo/Lemanu won by 737 votes with 6,645 ballots (52.9%) while the team of Faoa Aitofele Sunia and Taufete’e John Faumuina garnered 5,908 votes or 47.1 percent.

The next step now is for the Lolo and Lemanu team to set the program for the inauguration, which will be headed by Fiu Johnny Saelua, and the work of the transition team to proceed forward. 

Speaking on behalf of Soliai, the deputy election officer, Meleisea V. Filiga says this year’s general election and run-off election was peaceful, without any major incidents that may have caused any disruption to the election process.

“This is all due to the enormous support from our traditional leaders, village aumaga, district governors and the general public, who came together as a nation to ensure this political process ends in peace,” he said.

“My sincere fa’afetai tele lava, to every one, including our church leaders who continued to offer prayers during the elections, and our police force that worked around the clock to protect this voting process in our democratic society,” he said. “Fa’afetai tele to all the candidates who vied for political seats this year. Each and every one of you were cooperative and at the same time provided moral support for American Samoa to work as a nation.”

He asked for forgiveness if any one in the staff, or any official of the Election Office had erred against anyone during the general and run-off elections.

“We have come to a peaceful conclusion of this election year and the voters of American Samoa have spoken and made their choices,” he said.

Click on attachment to download official results.