Ads by Google Ads by Google

Polynesian Football Hall of Fame in the works

Under the it's-about-time category, several prominent figures today announced the launching of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame.The first class will be selected this month. It will feature six players and one \contributor\ to the sport. Preferred qualities are players born in the region known as Polynesia or of Polynesian ancestry. The class will be inducted in a ceremony Jan. 263 during Pro Bowl week.The hall will be headquartered in Honolulu, although a site has not been selected yet.The board includes: Jesse Sapolu, Maa Tanuvasa, Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno Mahe.The selection committee includes: Dick Tomey, LaVell Edwards, Ron McBride, Gil Brandt and Neil Everett.There are 58 players of Polynesian ancestry on NFL rosters, and two college head coaches (Navy's Kenny Niumatalolo and Norm Chow).