Ads by Google Ads by Google

PCC is new home of Poly Football Hall of Fame

Laie, HAWAII – The Polynesian Cultural Center (PCC) will now be a perpetual place of honor for the football champions of Polynesia as the permanent home of the new Polynesian Football Hall of Fame.  The venue recognizing the sport’s greatest players, coaches and contributors from Polynesia is scheduled to open in January 2015.


The announcement was made at a press conference this past Friday attended by inductees of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame’s inaugural 2014 class and members of its board of directors.  


Jesse Sapolu, Co-Founder and Chairman of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame, noted, “When we officially established the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame six months ago, the decision to choose Hawaii as our home was easy. It was important that our home be reflective of the culture and people of Polynesia, and for us, there was only one place, the Polynesian Cultural Center.” 


The new Hall of Fame will be placed in the area between the PCC’s main entrance and the Pacific Theater, site of the award-winning evening show, Ha: Breath of Life, and special events throughout the year, including the World Fireknife Championships. The location and PCC’s stature as one of Hawaii’s most popular attractions ensure it will be highly visible to guests from around the world.  




·  Kurt Gouveia – Raised in Waianae (Oahu); 13-year NFL linebacker; 2-time Super Bowl Champion with the Washington Redskins


·  Olin Kreutz – Raised in Honolulu; 14-year NFL center, including 13 years with the Chicago Bears; 4-time All-Pro 


·  Kevin Mawae – 16-year NFL center with three teams; 8-time NFL All-Pro 


· Jack Thompson – “The Throwin’ Samoan”; NCAA Record-Setting Quarterback for Washington State; 6-Year NFL Pro


·  Ken Niumatalolo – Born in Laie (Oahu); Quarterback for the University of Hawaii; Currently Head Coach of the Naval Academy


·  Junior Seau (deceased) – 20-year NFL linebacker, including 13 years with the San Diego Chargers; 10-time All Pro


·  Herman Wedemeyer (deceased) – Born in Hilo (Hawaii); Halfback at St. Mary’s College; Hawaii’s first consensus All-American; Finished 4th in the Heisman (1945)


The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame held its inaugural enshrinement ceremony at the Hawaii Convention Center on Thursday, Jan. 23. Starting next year, the PCC will be the site for future enshrinement ceremonies and in addition, the PCC is teaming up with the Hall of Fame’s Board of Directors to develop youth and community educational initiatives, and marketing programs to promote the exhibit and Polynesia’s place in the history of football. 




·            Jesse Sapolu – Chairman and Co-Founder 


·            Maa Tanuvasa – Vice Chairman and Co-Founder


·            Vai Sikahema – Board Member


·            Troy Polamalu – Board Member


·            June Jones – Board Member


·            Reno Mahe – Board Member