PREL congrats to Pacific Teachers of the Year

Honolulu, HAWAII — The Pacific Teachers of the Year (TOY) gathered at the 2013 Pacific Educational Conference (PEC) held in Saipan, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), on July 16–19, 2013. Each of PREL’s 10 jurisdictions selected their Teacher of the Year. Corporate sponsorship — including PREL, the Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (HMH) Publishing Company, Matson and United Airlines — enabled the Pacific TOY to both attend and present workshop sessions at the 2013 PEC. The Pacific TOY were welcomed with a reception hosted by HMH and received awards and gifts from PREL and HMH. A special TOY Gala was sponsored by the CNMI Public School System, held on July 18, where the TOY were honored and heard special remarks from the 2012 U.S. National Teacher of the Year, Ms. Rebecca Mieliowocki. Pacific TOY conducted workshop sessions during the PEC to share effective and successful lessons and learning strategies from their classrooms. The 2013 Pacific Teachers of the Year are as follows: American Sāmoa — Mr. Iose Muasau Afu, Tafuna High School; Chuuk —Ms. Florencia Afituk, Central Wonip Elementary School; CNMI — Mr. Peter Loken, Garapan Elementary School; Guam — Ms. Mary Anne Angeles, Oceanview Middle School; Hawai‘i — Ms. Karen Kutsunai, Kailua Intermediate School; Kosrae — Mr. Jesse L. Cornelius, Sansrik Elementary School; Palau — Ms. Juliet Ngotel, Palau High School; Pohnpei — Ms. Emmy Rose Gilmete, Enipein Elementary School; Republic of the Marshall Islands — Ms. Connie Joel, Ejit Elementary School; and Yap — Mr. Owen Tharngan, Gagil Elementary School. Ms. Emmy Rose Gilmete, Pohnpei TOY, had these words to say, “I’m honored and humbled to have been a part of the 2013 Pacific TOY Program. It has been a tremendous experience for me.\",Honolulu

Comment Here