Governor sends list of Scholarship Board nominees to Fono


Gov. Lolo Matalasi Moliga has transmitted for Fono review and confirmation nominees to the ASG Student Financial Aid board, also known as the Scholarship board, whose proposed members were officially made public during this year’s graduation season.
Rev. Kalepo Vaitautolu is to be chairman of the board, and other members include Evelyn Lili’o-Satele, Tamali’i Anesi Poloa, Rep. Vaetasi Tu’umolimoli Saena Moliga, Sen. Faumuina Tagisiaali’i, and Jeanette Yamasaki.
In his nomination letter to the Fono, the governor says Vaitautolu has been a dedicated public servant for the Department of Public Works and Treasury Department. He is also a well-respected ‘faifeau’ and community leader for the Congregational Christian Church of American Samoa in Vaitogi.
Lili’o-Satele recently retired from serving as principal of South Pacific Academy and she is a career educator, having spent more than 26 years with the Education Department as both a teacher and administrator, said Lolo, who added that the nominee holds a Master’s degree in Education.
For Tamali’i, the governor says the nominee spent his career with the Education Department and prior to his retirement, he served as a program director during his several years in education administration.
 Tu’umolimoli was a career educator, retiring from DOE after 30 years before being elected last year to the House of Representatives, where he chairs the House Education Committee, which has oversight on the scholarship fund.
Regarding Faumuina, the nominee is chairman of the Senate Education/Scholarship Committee. Lolo said the senator was a member of the South Pacific Academy board for eleven years and was a member of the National Education Association from 1972-1976.
Yamasaki has served as an executive in the private sector for more than 15 years and she is currently the human resources manager at Blue Sky Communications. She is very active in the community and is recognized as experienced in human resources management, the governor said.
“These candidates are all well qualified and will bring valuable experience” to the ASG scholarship board, the governor said and noted that Human Resources Department director Le’i Sonny Thompson (who is also board secretary), Education Department director Vaitinasa Dr. Salu Hunkin-Finau, and American Samoa Community College president Dr. Seth Galea’i each serve as non-voting ex officio board members, in accordance with local law.
In closing, the governor urged lawmakers for early review and confirmation of the nominees to the board, which oversees the ASG scholarship program.
Names of the nominees, whose terms are four years, will now be put in resolution form before being introduced in both the Senate and House to be followed by confirmation hearings, as yet unscheduled. 
According to local law, the board shall consist of seven members: five members appointed by the Governor, two members appointed from the Legislature—one from the Senate, appointed by the President of the Senate, and one from the House appointed by the Speaker of the House; and all confirmed by the Legislature.
The term of office for a member of the Board shall be 4 years and members shall serve until their successors have been qualified, the law states.


Comment Here