Su’a County traditional leaders reach consensus for new senators

Traditional leaders of Su’a County have selected new senators for Sua’s two senatorial seats when the new 35th Legislature convenes in January next year.

Traditional leaders of Su’a County villages of Sailele, Masausi, Masefau, Afono, Fagaitua, Amaua, Auto, Avaio, Alega, Aumi and Laulii met last Friday to reaffirm its two senators — Fa’amausili Mau Mau Jr., who has previously served in the Senate a few years ago, and for Sua #2, the selection went to Muagututia Moevasa Tauoa.

Fa’amausili said reaching a consensus for the final selection didn’t take long and it was a peaceful meeting. He also said that he is prepared to return to the Senate to serve his constituents for the next four years.

Samoa News could not immediately contact Muagututia.

Of the 18-member Senate, there are currently ten senatorial seats already selected with senators-select or returning senators named, based on stories reported in the Samoa News.

Among the returning senators are Gaoteote Tofau Palaie, the current Senate President, and Nuanuaolefeagaiga Saoluaga Nua, the current Senate Pro Temp.

Samoa News reporters Ausage Fausia and Fili Sagapolutele contributed to this report.

Comment Here