Ads by Google Ads by Google

MASI finalizing plans for 25th anniversary celebration set for Sept


Miss American Samoa Incorporated (M.A.S.I.) is celebrating its silver jubilee this year.

Part of the 25th anniversary bash will include the participation of all former Miss American Samoa title holders in this year’s pageant, set to be held next month.

Current MASI president Simeafou Imo told Samoa News yesterday that MASI was first established on Sept. 12, 1991 by a group of people who wanted to form an organization “to cater to the young lady (pageant winner) and her preparations for the Miss South Pacific pageant, and also to assist Miss American Samoa with her annual activities.”

The original MASI membership included Juliette Spencer- Sword, Pelenatete Langkilde, Lusila Hudson, Sia Spencer, Hans Langkilde, and Sinira Fuimaono.

This year’s theme, according to Imo, will be “Toe Tepa Tasi” because “we want to recognize the hard work everyone has put into supporting this organization.”

Imo said, “We want to acknowledge all the beautiful women who participated in the annual pageants, as well as former MASI presidents who served to empower the young women of American Samoa.

Past MASI presidents are Juliette Spencer-Sword, Lusila Hudson, Lupe Laussen and her husband, the late Ben Laussen, Susing Alivia, and Monty Tupuola. This year, a slide- show featuring snapshots of all former Miss American Samoa beauties — who have all been formally invited to the event — will be in the spotlight during next month’s pageant.


Fatima Langkilde,
 Pins Ofoia, Ann Liu, Maria Tia, Salote Auelua, Juliette Spencer Sword, Julie Kunkel, Amy Aetui, Loralei Haleck, Faleo- sina Faiai Voigt, Leilua Stevenson, Lorena Elizabeth Tiapula Cruz, Rochelle Reid, Tapuitea Fanene-Sola’ita (relinquished title to Sieni Skelton), Simeamativa Peleiupu Kruse, Vaisa’ asa’ a O sa Galea’ I, Helen Afatasi Burke, Vitalina Samoata Anne Kline, Lupe Ane Kenape Aumavae (relinquished crown to Marianne Laurenson), Etelagi Atia’e, Trixy Theresa Taua, Faith Toilolo, Charity Apineru Gregory, Wilhelmina Elisapeta Saelua (relinquished crown to Faasilitama’ita’i Shanett Pualani Tilo), Lorisa Mata’utia, Cindy Silao, Skyline Nua, Arrielle Maloata, Eleitino Tuiasosopo, Anneliese Sword, and Suluga Taliau Five of the former Miss American Samoa title holders went on to win the Miss South Pacific crown. They are: Juliette Spencer-Sword (held the Miss Tausala title and won the rst ever Miss South Paci c pageant), Leilua Ste- venson, Rochelle Reid, Helen Burke, and Lupe Ane Kenape Aumavae. Young women interested in competing for the 2017-2018 Miss American Samoa title are reminded that the deadline for applications has been extended to next Tuesday, August 15th. Meanwhile, the reigning Miss American Samoa, Antonina Lilomaiava, is working on the finishing touches of her last project as the territory’ s ambassador — a library for children at the LBJ Medical Center’ s Pediatric Ward, which will offer reading material for kids, to encourage literacy.