Ads by Google Ads by Google

Amata cosponsors U.S. House anti-harassment legislation

Congresswoman Aumua Amata [SN file photo]
Applauds passage

Washington, D.C. — Congresswoman Aumua Amata welcomed legislative efforts to combat harassment in Congress, improve training and protect employees, and applauded House passage this past Wednesday of a bipartisan effort, H.R. 630, introduced by Rep. Barbara Comstock (R-Virginia), which Congresswoman Amata co-sponsored and the House passed with broad support.

Congresswoman Comstock’s legislation requires all staff and Members of Congress to take yearly anti-harassment training, and she worked across party lines on the legislation.

Congresswoman Amata also supports the action by Speaker Paul Ryan (R-Wisconsin) who directed the entire House of Representatives and its employees to participate in sexual harassment training. Congresswoman Amata’s office already had anti-harassment policies, and she has already directed her staff to complete the training.

“There’s simply no place for harassment in the halls of Congress, or anywhere else,” said Congresswoman Aumua Amata. “I appreciate my good friend Congresswoman Comstock’s leadership on this effective, bipartisan effort to preserve trust in this great institution. I welcome this bipartisan effort to help protect employees, along with Speaker Ryan’s decisive action to improve training. We want the highest professional standards of decency practiced in the U.S. Capitol.”

Congresswoman Amata also is a cosponsor of H.R. 4396, The Member and Employee Training and Oversight On Congress Act, which would require more transparency, overhaul the complaint process, and provide support for victims and whistleblowers. She signed on to this bill in conjunction with numerous colleagues, including Congressman Luke Messer (R-Indiana), Chairman of the Republican Policy Committee; Congresswoman Jenniffer González-Colón (R-PR); Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI); Congressman Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (D-CNMI); along with some two dozen other Members on a bipartisan basis.