Ads by Google Ads by Google

Local democratic party Super Tuesday results

Unlike the Super Tuesday results of 2008, where delegate votes were cast for Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama, in a contest that went all the way to the convention,  there was nothing but unified support in the local Democratic party on Tuesday, March 6, 2012, held at the American Samoa Culinary Academy in Malaeimi.

The American Samoa Democratic Party unanimously supports the nomination of the incumbent President of the United States, Barack Obama. Following a verification of that support, the local party members then voted for delegates to the National Convention, which will be held this year in Charlotte, North Carolina.

American Samoa's Delegation to the Democratic National Convention has officially listed six female delegates and six male delegates casting 12 full votes for incumbent President Obama that include: Governor Togiola Tulafono, Congressman Faleomavaega Eni Hunkin, Fagafaga Daniel Langkilde, Aliimau Scanlan, Jr., Tapaau Dr. Daniel Aga, Sean Morrison, Dr. Salu Hunkin-Finau, Sue Scanlan, Marilyn AhChing, Therese Hunkin, Clara Reid and Caroline Rising-Maxey.

One male delegate position was carried forward to a female delegate position due to the two male votes held by Governor Togiola and Congressman Faleomavaega, that were overlooked by the caucus participants and corrected by the Democratic National Committee.

 The male delegate position carried over was held by youth delegate Corey Sene,  who now is officially the American Samoa Democratic Delegation Page selected by the Delegation Chair, Aliimau Scanlan, Jr.

The female delegate position has been yielded to Caroline Rising-Maxey, who received the next highest votes in scoring for a female delegate position. The Alternate, Patrick Ti’a Reid remains.

 Standing Committee Members elected at the Super Tuesday Caucus are: Platform Member--Tapaau Dr. Dan Aga, Credentials Member--Clara Reid, and Rules Member--Aliimau Scanlan, Jr.

 The Democratic National Convention will be held in Charlotte, North Carolina September 3-6, 2012 and the American Samoa Delegation will be housed with the Guam Delegation in Charlotte.

The American Samoa Democratic Party has participated in the Democratic National Conventions since 1984, supporting the presidential and vice presidential nominees of Walter Mondale and Geraldine Ferraro in San Francisco in 1984;  Michael Dukakis and Lloyd Bentsen in Atlanta, 1988;  Bill Clinton and Al Gore in New York,1992; In 1996 in Chicago the incumbent Clinton-Gore ticket; in Los Angeles 2000 with Al Gore and Joseph Lieberman; Boston in 2004, nominating the John Kerry, John Edwards team;  and the 2008 convention in Denver nominating Barack Obama and Joseph Biden.

Incumbent President Obama will formally accept the party’s nomination at the North Carolina Democratic National Convention.

 For more information on the Democratic Party or the Democratic National Convention contact Clara at 699-7289 or Carl at 770-1564.