Ads by Google Ads by Google

Local Democratic Party elects new officers

PAGO PAGO, American Samoa — The American Samoa Democratic Party held its elections of new officers the end of June as they prepare to head to the Democratic National Convention to be held in Charlotte, North Carolina in September.

The new party Chairman is Aliimau JR Scanlan, replacing Fagafaga Daniel Langkilde, who stepped down after serving a four-year term. Clara Reid was re-elected to the position of Vice Chairperson. Fagafaga Langkilde is the new National Committeeman, while Teri Hunkin was re-elected as the National Committeewoman.  Sean Morrison is the new Executive Director and Sue Scanlan was voted in to be Secretary. Karl Prendergast has retained the party’s Treasurer post.

The local Democrats will be sending a delegation to represent the Territory at the national convention this year and will cast all of its votes to re-elect Barack Obama as President of the United States.

Incoming Chairman Aliimau Scanlan said it is critical that President Obama is re-elected because we need to continue to bring the nation out of this economic recession and create more jobs. We also need to continue the programs that President Obama has started, which have benefitted the nation and especially the people of American Samoa. 

Aliimau cited as examples the ARRA programs and the Obamacare health reform legislation,which was upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court last week. “These programs directly benefit me and you, our neighbors, and just about every person we know, not only here in American Samoa but also those living in the States. It is the Democratic principles that help the middle-class and the low income people of this great nation,” said Aliimau.

The current officers will remain in office during the Democratic National Convention in September . The new officers will take on their positions after the convention.

The ASDP meets monthly and has a registered membership of over 600, with fewer than 20 who regularly attend meetings.

American Samoa Democratic Party media release