Ads by Google Ads by Google

Lions Park Tennis Veterans return victorious from Apia

The American Samoa Lions Park veterans tennis players brought home two trophies they won in Moamoa, Samoa when they beat the strong Chanel Tennis Club in two of three categories recently.  The local club defeated Chanel in the mixed doubles and the territorial women’s team overwhelmed its hosts during two days of competition at Moamoa.  The Chanel club took the men’s doubles competition.

“Our women dominated the doubles competition as well as the mixed doubles.  The men’s group played very well also but we were handicapped as there were not that many men that traveled to Apia,” commented the Lions Park club’s vice president, Lamositele Jerome Lamositele who led the contingent of players and supporters to Apia over the President’s Day weekend.

The Lions Park Veterans Tennis club president, Herman Popeye Thomsen did not make the trip because of business commitment but he welcomed his triumphant troops back to American Samoa early last week.  “Well done guys,” he told the players as he greeted the veterans during a barbeque on Monday, President’s Day.  “Dr. Jerome Amoa and the rest of us that stayed behind because of other obligations offered our prayers and best wishes for your safe journey to Apia, as well as a pleasant outcome of the tournament against the Chanel club.  We are just overjoyed with the results.  On behalf of our Lions Park club, I congratulate all of you that played.  We’re very proud of you.” president Thomsen added.

The team was led by vice president Lamositele and club secretary, Tai Duseigneur.  Philo Jennings served as captain of the local group with Lamositele serving as his co-skipper.  Secretary Duseigneur said the Lions Park women’s team won 12 matches out of 15 played.  Chanel only took three.  In the mixed doubles tournament, the territorial veterans were victorious taking 12 matches to nine. Chanel edged the Pago Pago men’s team winning six matches to five.

Others in the group that traveled to Moamoa were: Va’asa Amoa, Teuila Passi, Rosalia Posala, Angel Calambang, Cory Tu’ua, Solonaima Tui, Lenita Pritchard, Billy Young, Teleso Tui, Taulapapa Willie Sword, Korina Lee, Laumua Duseigneur, Vicky Le’avai, and Malia Perelini.