Ads by Google Ads by Google

IWVBA crowns season’s winners this past Saturday

The Islandwide Volleyball Association (IWVBA) ended with their season this past Saturday at the Samoana High School gymnasium with the crowning of the top Women’s team and the top Men’s A and B teams. The day started with the crowd packing into the school’s gymnasium to watch high flying action of the highly skilled players of the IWVBA, lead by Legae’e Lang Mauga, who thanked all of the teams and those who helped make this season a successful one.


The final day of play started in the Women’s Division for the 3rd and 4th overall position with team All for One, taking on Teine Fetuao. All for One came out of the gates storming and did not look back and did not look back, as they defeated Teine Fetuao 17-10 in the first set. In the second set, Teine Fetuao repaid the favor by this one by a score of 8-17. However, the last set belonged to All for One, as they cruised to a 17-7 victory to secure the 3rd overall finish in the women’s division leaving Teine Fetuao to take the 4th spot to finish the season.


In the Women’s championship finals, it was the always tough BTI Blockerettes taking on team All Natural. Being the favored to take the finals since the start of the season, BTI had this game from the beginning despite winning the first set by only three by a score of 17-14. BTI kept the pressure on as they took the second set as well, 17-12 to win this year’s women’s division.


The Men’s championship day started in the Men’s B Division with team USO taking on Fetu Lele to see who would walk away with the 3rd overall finish while the loser would finish out the season in the 4th overall position. At the end of two sets, it was team USO taking game; 17-15, 17-14. Next game up was in the Men’s A Division for 3rd and 4th that was between Alii Taoso and the other Fetu Lele team. In three hard fought sets, Alii Taoso was able to earn the 3rd overall spot by winning, 14-17, 17-14 and 18-16.


Next up was the battle for the Men’s Championship in both the A and B Division. The first game was Sea Breeze versus All Natural for the championship in the B division. Sea Breeze was able to get the job done in two sets, winning the Men’s B championship game by a score of 17-14, 17-15. Perhaps the best game of the day, came when the team’s of Smash took on team Finau for the Men’s A championship finals. In a game that was filled with high flying and hard hitting action, it had Finau taking the first set 12-17, while the Smash took the second by the same score of 17-12. The final and deciding set had both teams going back and forth with each taking the lead in a see-saw battle. Finau however, prevailed in the end, winning the final and deciding set, 14-16 to win the Men’s A Division.


Final Results:


Women’s Division:


Champions: BTI Blockerettes


2nd: All Natural


3rd: All for One


4th: Teine Fetuao


Men’s A Division:


Champions: Finau


2nd: Smash


3rd: Alii Taoso


4th: Fetu Lele


Men’s B Division:


Champions: Sea Breeze


2nd: All Natural


3rd: USO


4th: Fetu Lele


Most Valuable Player Women’s Division:


Sia Maluia-BTI Blockerettes


Most Valuable Player Men’s A Division:


Taloaiga Oloaga-Finau


Most Valuable Player Men’s B Division:


Nick Sall-Sea Breeze