Ads by Google Ads by Google

Bar Assn announces Arthur A. Morrow Justice Award

For 40 years the American Samoa Bar Association has been promoting justice in American Samoa. Success has only been accomplished with champions of justice throughout the territory. To promote these champions, the ASBA is pleased to announce the first annual Arthur A. Morrow Justice Award.

The Arthur A. Morrow Justice Award is presented to an individual or organization that has, through their actions, made significant improvements to the justice system and the rule of law in American Samoa. This may be demonstrated through improving access to the judicial system, showing superior professional competence, professionalism, and civility, bringing justice to those who need it, upholding the highest principles and traditions of integrity, or otherwise empowering the rule of law in the territory.

Arthur A. Morrow was American Samoa’s longest serving Chief Justice, sitting on the bench from 1937-1966. His term created much of the jurisprudence that is the foundation for American Samoa’s legal system.

Chief Justice Morrow’s commitment to the territory and its justice system serve as the basis for the Justice Award.

Please help the Bar by nominating a champion of justice. Nominations are open to the public.

Submission Guidelines

To submit nominations, please follow the criteria below:

1. Nominations must be in writing.

2. Nominations must include:

i. Name, village, email address, and phone number of the nominator;

ii. Name, village, email address, and phone number of the nominee; and

iii. Maximum one page description of the nominee and why they should

receive the award.

3. ASBA officers and staff are not eligible for the award.

4. The ASBA decision is final, and no correspondence concerning their

decision will be available.

5. Nominations must be received by March 19, 2012.

Please submit nominations to or to the ASBA at P.O. Box 23, Pago Pago, American Samoa 96799.

Source: ASBA media release