Ads by Google Ads by Google

ASCC/PTK welcomes 18 new members

he American Samoa Community College (ASCC) chapter of the prestigious Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honors Society welcomed 18 new members during its fall 2013 induction ceremony this past Friday, October 18.


With chapters at community and junior colleges across the United States and its territories, Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages excellence in scholarship among associate degree students. The Greek words Phi Theta Kappa mean wisdom (Phi), aspiration (Theta) and purity (Kappa). The society bases its programs on its four hallmarks: scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.


Family and friends, including ASCC President Dr. Seth Galea’i and Dean of Academic Affairs Dr. Irene Helsham, packed the ASCC Lecture Hall for the ceremony, as the PTK celebrated the scholastic achievements of the College’s “best and brightest”.


The theme for this semester’s induction was “Today’s Determination Brings Tomorrow’s Success”, a theme expanded upon by special guest speaker Mr. Joey Cummings, General Manager of radio stations KHJ and V103, and himself a former PTK member.


The ceremony also included a stirring performance of the PTK theme song by PTK alumni Tony Tuigamala, followed by the traditional lighting of candles representing the “flame of knowledge” by the inductees, followed by their reciting the oath of allegiance to the PTK.


This semester’s inductees are Destinee Afalava, Anna Imelda Afoa, Nikolao Alo, Olita Laumua Hollister-Godinet, Jireh Kruse, Filoisamoa Langkilde Jr., Tufanua Mase, Ella-Monique Misa, Mellody Parungo, Togasi’i Peter Peko, Paul Alaituasivi Saulo Jr., Talimeli F. Taufete’e,Jessica Tuiletufuga, Anthony Tuiolosega, Chastity Tuiolosega, Merieni Maryann Tupuimatagi, Siuila Uele, and Zihao Zeng.


They will join current members Marietta Lafaele (President), Sia Niupulusu (Vice President), Maria Magalasin (Secretary), Wittenberg Mariner (Treasurer), Easther Kim, Peniamina Tai'I, Seong Hee Kim, Yeseul Kang, Nyrese Pato, Fa'afetai Ifopo, Moya Beyer, Leli'a Mona Chang, Salani Leota, Zerahamla Mamea.


Each semester, PTK advisors Toaiva Fiame-Tago, Evile Feleti, Anthony Felise, Kuki Tuiasosopo, and Evelyn Fuean review the ASCC Dean’s List and other relevant data to determine which students qualify for the membership in the Society. At ASCC, PTK nominees must have taken at least 12 credits, passed their English 150, English 151 and Math 90 classes, and have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher.


Qualifying students receive an invitation to join PTK, and most of those invited readily accept the offer.


Phi Theta Kappa provides more than $35 million worth of scholarships annually to student members nationwide. Each member is automatically nominated for inclusion in the prestigious National Dean’s List, and is also enrolled in the PTK Transfer Database, which links senior institutions across the nation offering scholarships to PTK members.


For more information on the Phi Theta Kappa Honors society, visit their webpage at