Ads by Google Ads by Google

ASCC awards inaugural LSAMP Fellowships

The American Samoa Community College (ASCC) Luis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) program has announced the first awarding of fellowships of $1000 each to four ASCC students.


The ASCC LSAMP program’s mission is to broaden participation in the areas of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM areas).


The LSAMP program is a well-respected national program promoting the involvement of minorities in STEM areas and is named after the Honorable Louis Stokes, an outstanding congressman, attorney, educator, and United States citizen.  Mr. Louis Stokes played a critical role in the pursuit of civil rights, equality, and social and economic justice throughout his tenure in the Unites States Congress.


ASCC students Anthony Sagapolutele, Judy Ulufale, Valentine Vaeoso and Fa’asalafa Kitiona are the successful applicants for this initial round of awards. LSAMP Fellowship applicants were required to have been accepted at a four year university as transfer students and be majoring in a STEM area for their bachelor’s degree.  As part of their applications they were required to submit strong letters of recommendation, a paper explaining their educational goals within a STEM area, and to have a high cumulative GPA.


The LSAMP Fellowship recipients will be transferring to the University of Hawai’i at Hilo this fall where Ulufale will major in Molecular Biology, and Kitiona, Vaeoso, and Sagapolutele will major in Marine Science. In addition to their excellent academic performance, each of these students has gained experience in scientific research through their internships in the ASCC Marine Science Program, and have presented their results publicly.


The ASCC is pleased to have such deserving applicants and looks forward to continuing the LSAMP Fellowship program in the future. 


If you would like further information on the ASCC LSAMP program please contact the LSAMP Coordinator at or via phone at 699-9155 x 356.