Duke of Cambridge addresses youth at Commonwealth Pacific Youth conference

HONIARA, Solomon Islands — The Duke of Cambridge praised youth involved in the Commonwealth Youth Programme in a special royal visit to the Commonwealth Pacific Youth Leadership and Integrity Conference.

The Duke of Cambridge gave a short speech to the 40 youth representatives at the conference, run by the Commonwealth Youth Program’s Pacific Centre as part of its work to engage and empower young people (ages 15-29) and enhance their contribution to development.

The Duke of Cambridge said: "I find it inspirational that young people like you, coming from all over the South Pacific, have chosen to become involved with the Commonwealth…What you are doing, and the friendships that you make, are critical for your future as young leaders, both in your own countries and in the global family that is the Commonwealth."

He paid tribute to the value of the Commonwealth as he commented: "We are, more than ever before, a global community. The Commonwealth reminds us of what we have in common, what our responsibilities to one another are, without this ability to cross the boundaries of nationhood, race and creed, humanity in the future would find it very much harder to advance toward greater harmony and sustainable co-existence."

The Duke also presented six young people with Gold Duke of Edinburgh awards: Bryan Anga, Hudson Oeta, Harry James Olikwailafa, Ray Richard, Ashley Watson from Solomon Islands and Rebecca Solomon from Vanuatu.

Commonwealth Youth Program (CYP) Regional Director, Pacific, Afu Billy said: "It is an honor to host the Duke and Duchess with us at the start of the Commonwealth Pacific Youth Leadership and Integrity Conference. The Royal couple are an inspiration to young people in the Commonwealth…”

Forty young Pacific Leaders are here in Honiara, Solomon Islands for a week-long Commonwealth Pacific Youth Leadership and Integrity Conference. They represent14 Pacific countries: Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, New Zealand, Marshall Islands, Niue, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

The conference concludes Saturday 22 September.


Comment Here