Soliai certifies election results

One House race challenged

Chief Election Officer Soliai Tuipine certified late Tuesday afternoon the results of the Nov. 6 general election and the run off set for next week in the gubernatorial race, while one local House race has been challenged in High Court.


4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Nov. 13 was the deadline to contest the general election results and Soliai said in an official communique releasing the certified results that local House race for District #15, Tualauta, is being contested.

As reported in yesterday’s Samoa News, Tualauta candidates in the general election, Lucia Bartley and Esther Wall, filed their complaint against respondents —  Soliai and another Tualauta candidate, Florence Saulo — “for provable fraud”.

Unofficial results from the general election had given the two Tualauta seats to incumbent Larry Sanitoa and newcomer Saulo, a local business woman. Sanitoa and Saulo received the top votes for the district.

In another House race, for District #8 (Fagatogo) where incumbent Vailiuama Steve Leasiolagi and former faipule Maugaoali’i L. Sipa Anoa’i were tied with exactly 207 votes each, Soliai said that in accordance with local election law, this seat “shall be decided by lot”.

Soliai told Samoa News the date for the lot has not been set, however Maugaoali’i said he believes it will be held soon.

The next battle for incumbents and faipule-elect, is to choose the new Speaker of the House. This will be decided after lawmakers are sworn into office on 12noon on Jan. 3, 2013. There are already rumors of lawmakers talking to each since the general election about possible candidates, and who to support.

Unconfirmed reports state that House Speaker Savali Talavou Ale, who has been serving consecutive two-year terms as lawmaker since he first entered the House in 1981, is again seeking the leadership post.


In the Congressional race, the Election Office said the count in District #12 for Rosie F. Tago Lancaster and Kereti Matautia Jr. have been corrected under the official results, but incumbent Faleomavaega Eni is still re-elected.

 Of the total 13,076 ballots counted, the official results shows that Faleomavaega got 7,221 (55.2%); Aumua Amata with 4,420 (33.8%); Rosie F. Tago Lancaster with 697 (5.3%); Kereti Matautia Jr. with 438 (3.3%); and Fatumalala Leuluaiali’i A. Al-Shehri with 300 (2.3%).


For the gubernatorial race, the official results are: 

•            Afoa L. S. Lutu/Le'i S. Thompson with 2,521 (19.3%);

•            Faoa Aitofele T. F. Sunia / Taufete'e John Faumuina with 4,315 (33.1%);

•            Lolo Matalasi Moliga / Lemanu Sialega Mauga with 4,372 (33.5%);

•            Salu Hunkin-Finau / Utuali'i luniasolua Savusa with 893 (6.8%);

•            Save Liuato A. Tuitele / Sandra King Young with 763 (5.8%); and

•            Tim Jones / Tuika Tuika with 189 (1.4%)

And in accordance with local election laws, Soliai says the run off election is set for Nov. 20 between the top two voter getters — the teams of Faoa/Taufete’e and Lolo/Lemanu.


The certified results clearly show that the voter override referendum has been defeated. Of the 13,029 ballots counted, 7,177 or 55.1% of voters objected to the referendum and 5,852 or 44.9% were in support.

Click on attachment to download pdf copy of official results

Official_General_Election_Results.pdf124.75 KB


Comment Here