ASCC Alumni Assn awards scholarship

ASCC Matai Alumni President Amio Magaega-Luvu (left) and Secretary/Treasurer Peteru Lam Yuen (right) congratulate Genesis Alofaaga Seumalo (center), the recipient of this semester's Matai Alumni Scholarship. (Courtesy Photo)

The Matai Alumni Association at the American Samoa Community College (ASCC) has established a scholarship award every semester geared towards students not eligible for Federal Student Aid. The Association has announced Miss Genesis Alofaaga Seumalo as the recipient for the award this semester.

Miss Seumalo, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Sofa and To’aga Seumalo of Vailoatai and Iliili, majors in Liberal Arts and is expected to graduate this semester. A member of the prestigious Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, her goals include furthering her education and serving in the Air Force.

Applicants for the Matai Alumni Scholarship must attend the College full time, maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.00 or better, have completed 24 credit hours at ASCC, have passed the courses ENG 90 or ENG 91 and MAT 80, and not have eligibility for Federal Student Aid such as the Pell Grant. The Alumni Scholarship Committee, which consists of the Dean of Student Services and one person each from the faculty, administration and community who are also alumni, reviews applicants each semester and selects a winner.

This is the third semester that the Association has offered its Scholarship Award of $500. The previous two semesters’ awards were given to Mrs. Lemafo’e Lauti in Fall 2011, and to Mr. Ropeti Areta in Spring 2011.

The Matai Alumni Association strives to provide support for ASCC students and to foster a spirit of unity and networking among its members and the community. President Amio Mavega-Luvu, Vice President Nunuimalo Apisaloma Toleafa and Treasurer/Secretary Peteru Lam Yuen currently serve as its executive officers. The Association has slowly but steadily increased its membership and encourages ASCC alumni in American Samoa and abroad to give back to the Territory’s only institution of higher learning by becoming a member.

The Association holds fundraising events and social gatherings, and performs community service as part of its efforts to network with and help build a better community. Since it got underway in 1990, the Association has contributed to graduation awards each semester and now awards its own Alumni scholarship. Association member Matesina Aseta Willis said that the organization plans to spearhead other fundraising activities in the near future. “Now that everything is settled for the semester, we’d like to acknowledge our students and continue to feature their accomplishments here at ASCC,” she said.

In addition to the Matai Alumni Association Scholarship, the College also recently awarded its Presidential Merit and Saili le Atamai (Student Government Association) scholarships. The Presidential Merit Scholarship of $500, open to both Pell-qualifying and non-Pell-qualifying students, was awarded this semester to Biochemistry major Ms. Teuila Lemisio and Business Management/Accounting major Ms. Delilah Asiata, both from the Independent State of Samoa.

The Saili le Atamai Scholarship of $250, for which only non-Pell-qualifying students can apply, was awarded this semester to Liberal Arts major Mr. Nikolau Alo of Samoa and Nursing major Ms. Clarice Cokanasiga of Fiji.

The Matai Alumni, Presidential Merit and Saili le Atamai awards are all considered part of the College’s “in-house” scholarships which are not actual cash awards but rather monetary credit applied to the respective students’ accounts with the ASCC Business Office.


Comment Here